Its a lazy Sunday. Den and I wanted to bring Bam to Animal House to say thank you to Dr. Anthony for taking good care of Bem when he got sick. Being in the QC area, we decided to try out Kozui along Tomas Morato. Kozui is a Japanese cafe whose motto is ‘Its Healthy to go Green’ . The green motif makes you feel like you’re having something healthy and feel good about having a meal in the place.

Kozui - It’s Healthy to Go Green

Kozui cakes

The cafe has a tempting list of green tea varieties to choose from. I opted for the korichio drink since it looked the yummiest on the menu board.

Macho Melon Korichio Tall

Macho Melon Korichio Tall Php120. I went for the melon and found it really refreshing. I’m not a frappe fan since I find frappe’s too thick and fattening. Frappe’s usually make more thirsty but this was really good though. The melon made the frappe refreshing and light.

Karaage Chicken Wrap Php158

Karaage Chicken Wrap Php158 – Deef fried breaded chicken with lettuce, onion, tomato, cucumber  and Japanse black sesame dressing in toasted pita bread. Very interesting  take on wraps. This was quite good. Thie chicken was crispy and the dressing was interesting. The oil used on the chicked was a bit rancid though. I could taste it when biting on the chicken. I hope they would stop reusing the oil! I would want to try the Tofu and Veggie wrap next time.

 Takoyaki Balls

I always had a love affair with samurai balls. I just can’t resist buying from any food cart which sells them in the shopping mall. There’s something about th combination of the samurai ball with japanese mayo and bonito flakes which does it for me. The Kozui Special Takoyaki Php98 is filled with chunks of ika, ebi and egi (squid, shrimp and asian leeks).  I wish the batter of the takoyaki balls be improved to make it softer and creamier though.

We really wanted to try the Anmitsu which looks like a Japanese halo-halo but we were too full. We would definitely come back to try this though. Overall, I enjoyed Kozui a lot. It’s different and an interesting concept from the coffee and tea cafe’s we have around the metro. It’s a good place if you’re looking for something light. Food selection is good and gives you a healthy feel. The extensive list of green tea beverages from iced green teas to macho’s (frappes) will also make any thirsty chap leaving satisfied.

Rating : Like It

Food : Korichio Drinks

Kozui Green Tea Cafe

258 Tomas Morato St.

Quezon City

Tel : 413-2705

